Skip to main content

Sumitomo in Germany celebrates 40th anniversary

Sumitomo in Germany celebrates 40th anniversary

Sumitomo Electric Hartmetall GmbH is celebrating an anniversary: the German location of the manufacturer of innovative cutting tools is part of the Japanese Sumitomo Electric Group and looks back on 40 years of successful company history this year. Today, Sumitomo is one of the world's leading manufacturers of precision tools for turning, drilling, milling and hard machining.

We are celebrating our anniversary year with several special offers and dates. We will keep you up to date on this page.


40th anniversary promotion

Sumitomo is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year and you will also benefit from this, because we have prepared several promotions for you.

Secure our milling cutters at a special offer price from September 1 to November 30, 2021.

Tooling News of promotion milling cutters:
tangential shoulder milling cutter
DFC shoulder milling cutter
WFX shoulder milling cutter

Simply contact us or your sales representative for further information.

History of European Headquarters

On 26 May 1981, the globally operating Japanese company Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd. founded its wholly owned subsidiary Sumiden Hartmetall GmbH, which was renamed Sumitomo Electric Hartmetall GmbH in 1986. At that time, the company started with only 6 employees in Erkrath in North Rhine-Westphalia. This was followed in 1986 by the move into the newly constructed company building at Siemensring 84 in Willich, also in NRW. The success of the company's history and the appreciation of the previous choice of location are also reflected in the new building of the current company headquarters at Konrad-Zuse-Straße 9 in Willich in 2016. Since then, the German location has been operating as the European Headquarters for cutting tools with around 200 employees in Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

Managing Directors

1981 - 1986   Mr. Yoshihiko Ishii

1986 - 1988   Mr. Katsuhide Kurasaka

1988 - 1993   Mr. Hiroshi Fukura

1993 - 1997   Mr. Masaki Nishino

1997 - 2001   Mr. Hiroshi Arimoto

2001 - 2004   Mr. Kunihiro Tomita

2004 - 2009   Mr. Takahiro Takadaya

2009 - 2016   Mr. Atsushi Murayama

2016 - 2020   Mr. Shinya Uesaka

2020 - 20....   Mr. Yu Kagiya